Service Status: We know some customers are having issues with Online Card and/or Mobile Services. We're sorry for this. We're working to get it back to normal soon.


Infomation correct as of February 2020

The UK has now left the EU but until 31st December 2020 will still be part of the European Single Market. We’ve included the most frequently asked questions on your products and services below.


  • 1.
    What is the impact on my products and services?

    Nothing has changed. There is no immediate impact on your ability to access your existing products and services.

    Back to top
  • 2.
    Will I be able to use ATMs / pay by my debit / credit card in Europe?

    Yes. The use of ATMs and how you use your cards to pay for goods or services doesn’t change.

    Back to top
  • 3.
    My credit card doesn't currently charge foreign exchange fees or fees for withdrawing cash abroad. Will that change?

    No, this feature applies across the world so we do not anticipate any change.

    Back to top
  • 4.
    Will there be any changes to the Balance Transfer and Money Transfer features on my credit card?

    Nothing has changed. There is no immediate impact on your ability to complete Balance Transfers or Money Transfers.

    Back to top
  • 5.
    Can I continue to make payments to my credit card bill from EU countries?

    Yes, you can continue to make these payments from abroad.

    Back to top
  • 6.
    Will there be any impact to accessing Online Card Services when travelling in Europe?

    No. Online Card Services is not affected.

    You can also continue to access your bank account through our mobile app, if you have it.

    Back to top
  • 7.
    Will my personal data still be secure?

    You continue to be protected through current legislation, and our internal policies. Your data will continue to be held in the most secure way.

    Back to top
  • 8.
    Can I continue to make payments to and from EU countries?

    At present we don’t anticipate any changes to how you make and receive payments to and from these countries.

    Back to top
  • 9.
    If I need to move out of the UK to the EU do I still have to repay my loan?

    Yes, you are legally bound by the terms and conditions that you signed when taking your loan, this includes making the contractual monthly repayments in pounds sterling. If you wish to settle your loan early, call us on 0330 678 1430. We’re here to help 8am to 10pm, 7 days a week.

    Back to top
  • 10.
    Which countries are in the EU?

    The EU currently consists of: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden.

    Back to top
  • 11.
    Which countries are in the European Economic Area (EEA)?

    The EEA includes EU countries and also Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

    Back to top
  • 12.
    What is the transition period and how will it affect my products and services?

    The transition period, or as it is sometimes called the implementation period, is the period from when the UK left the EU until 31st December 2020. Its purpose is to give the UK time to negotiate new international agreements with the EU and other countries. During the transition period, the UK will still be part of the European Single Market and EU law will continue to apply in the UK. You should not see any significant changes to your products or services as a direct result of the transition period but if there are any developments or changes that may impact them, we will let you know.

    Back to top

For general updates and guidance on the UK leaving the EU, the UK Government has set up an online hub.